Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Lagering in South Florida, First time making a Lager
jetpilot01
post Dec 22 2008, 11:18 AM
Post #1

Group: New Member
Member No.: 13,616

This weekend I brewed my first 5 gallon batch of a Peppercorn Rye Bock (from Sam Calagione's Extreme Brewing). Its a lager, and I have a wine fridge that holds a 6 gallon carboy perfectly. I've got the temperature down to 50 degrees F. Like I said, this is my first time doing a lager. I pitched the yeast yesterday, once the temperature was low enough. I used Wyeast Munich Lager #2308 liquid yeast. I was sure to shake up and aerate the carboy really well, before pitching. Then a good shaking once the yeast was in there.

Here's my dilemma. I'm used to ales, so when I pitch the yeast, within 24 hours that air lock is bubbling like its going out of style. This morning, when I checked on my lager, nothing. No activity at all. I understand that lager yeast is bottom fermenting. The bottom of the carboy has what appears to be a thick foamy layer. It is much thicker than what I'm used to seeing when brewing an ale with the normal settling of the wort. However, CO2 is still a by product of fermentation, so the air lock should be bubbling by now. Should I be concerned? I'm wondering if everything is much slower due to the lower temperatures.

The only mistake I could have made was breaking the smack pack of yeast a day early. I did this the day I brewed, thinking the temperature would be low enough a few hours later. However, I had to wait until the following morning for the fridge to get the temperature down low enough (below 55 degrees). So the yeast sat in the pack for almost 18 hours, but I did keep it in the refridgerator, so it should be fine. The pack never did swell up.