Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Vanilla Strawberry Mead, Need help designing a recipe
swingerwc
post Jan 9 2009, 06:16 PM
Post #1

Stewart

Group: New Member
Member No.: 13,744

I'm fairly new to the homebrewing scene and have a few questions about a mead recipe I'm trying to put together. My aim is to make a wickedly good vanilla strawberry mead (as the topic title suggests). It would be a great help if some more expirienced brewers could cocreate this with me. I'm trying to create a softer feel, maybe even buttery feel, like strawberry cheesecake with a decent enough ABV.. at least 12% would be nice. I just want to avoid it turning out dry.. just a good balance. I don't usually have money to set aside for brewing so I really would like this to turn out the best it can be.

My first thoughts on ingredients would be:

15 pounds of Orange Blossom Honey
5 pounds of fresh strawberries
Madagascar vanilla bean(s)
WLP720 Sweet Mead/Wine Yeast

My main questions are:

If the yeast I chose is tolerant to 15% ABV, are there enough residual sugars in the strawberries to keep the mead sweet enough without the yeast gobbling up all the sweetness?

What should I add to get that buttery smoothness? My first thought was malolactic bacteria, but I read somwhere on this board that isn't necessary for meads because it lacks the right acids and may even be undesirable. I also thought maybe adding some LME or something of that nature might give it some body.

How many vanilla beans should I add? I hear they are quite potent and I haven't heard an affirmative opinion. I do want the vanilla to stand out as much as the strawberries.

Am I going overboard on the amount of strawberries? Or do I need more to satisfy the yeast's appetite and bring a very prominent strawberry presence to the mead? Or should I add some other source of sugar (i.e. LME?)? Should I focus more on the strawberries in second fermentation? Would like to take care of most of the flavoring in the prmary.