Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Joe's Ancient Orange and a Chocolate mead, 2 different meads, one question
wfuavenger
post Mar 16 2010, 10:30 AM
Post #1

Homebrewer

Group: Members
Member No.: 15,634

I am just getting into mead making as I was given a home brew kit for beer this Christmas and a mead kit for Valentines day. I am wondering if you guys think these sound good the way I have done them.

I would like to note that the OG was not taken as I was half way through the orange mead batch with stuff everywhere and sticky honey and OJ lightly covering most of the kitchen when my spouse, who got me into this (enabler), came in from work, sighed and turned around and went out to the porch swing! Needless to say, I had to hurry and finish.

Joes Ancient Orange/Cinnamon Clove Mead

Filled 6 gallon carbouy to just under top line

3 ˝ gallons water
2 large naval oranges cut into 16ths then halfs
3 medium/small naval oranges cut the same
3 pinches nutmeg
5 cinnomon sticks
4 cloves
18 lbs clover honey (1.5 gallons)
˝ cup loosely packed Sunkist raisins
2 packets fleschmans baking yeast (4.5 oz)
2 tsp Fermax nutrient

JW's Chocolate Mead

Filled 6 gallon carbouy just under top line

8.2 oz Nestley quick milk mix 25% reduced sugar
8 oz Hershey’s chocolate syrup
3.5 tsp acid blend
5 tsp Fermax nutrient
1 pack D-47 yeast

What do you think of these two recipes?

I am a bit concerned as the chocolate smells of sulfur and not the wonderful chocolate like it did until the second day.... Is it possible for d-47 to make sulfur compounds?

On a side note, I am going today to the local homebrew shop to get some smaller carbouys and airlocks.... 6 gallons is a LOT.

I also have a beekeeping blog that I am doing my mead writeups on and I have a few pics... jaredsbees.blogspot.com if you want to check it out. Visit My Website

This post has been edited by wfuavenger: Mar 16 2010, 10:32 AM
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Rikkard
post Mar 16 2010, 12:29 PM
Post #2

Homebrewer