Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Chat Transcripts - Guest Chris Colby, editor of "Brew Your Own" magazine
kroyster
post Nov 1 2004, 06:00 PM
Post #1

Brewmaster

Group: banned
Member No.: 201

Chris Colby, editor for "Brew Your Own" magazine and award winning Brewer, will be my guest for this Sunday's Chat. A few words from Chris:
[quote]I have been homebrewing since 1990 or 1991, when I was a graduate student in evolutionary biology at Boston University. Back then, I produced swill that was gratefully drank by my buddies at poker night, but wasn’t good by any stretch of the imagination. In 1997, I got serious about homebrewing, read a bunch of books and started producing much better beer. I also started all-grain brewing and keeping a brewing notebook around that time. (I’m up to batch #107 since I’ve started keeping track.)

I brew a lot of different kinds of beer, including many “fringe” styles and experimental beers. For example, I brew both rauchbier (smoked Märzen) and lambic. Lambics, and other sour beers, are among my favorite styles. This year I won Best of Show at my homebrew club’s contest (the Austin ZEALOT’s Homebrew Inquisition). The winning beer was a gueuze (blended lambic) made from 3-year-old, 2-year-old, and 1-year-old lambic. I’m not that into contests, but it is nice to win a ribbon for a beer that took me four years to brew. If you take 4 years to brew something and it sucks, you aren’t going to be that happy.