Total Votes: 19
Guests cannot vote 
dave76
post Mar 14 2005, 08:57 PM
Post #1

Brewmaster

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,842

IMO this is the best mass produced beer out, it actually has some flavor and some hoppyness to it.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Guest_The Professor_*
post Jun 21 2006, 07:01 PM
Post #2

Guests

QUOTE(dave76 @ Mar 14 2005, 09:57 PM) *
IMO this is the best mass produced beer out, it actually has some flavor and some hoppyness to it.

It's not bad, even though it's a shadow of what it once was (I've been drinking it since 1968...though in reality it stopped tasting anything like real Ballantine after the 1980's).

It is now a totally different brew these days...different ingredients, different yeast, and with only a fraction of the hop character it once had. Having said that though, it's really not bad for the price and provides a bit of nostalgia... and yes, it still has more character than a lot of other stuff out there.

Seems that Miller, or Pabst, or whoever is brewing Bally Ale these days is missing the boat. Not only with their pale imitation of regular Ballantine Ale, but by not riding the specialty wave and bringing out the IPA again for another go. I doubt they (or anyone) can replicate the taste of THAT classic though. Certainly no one has yet...no one's even come close...

+Quote Post
armagh
post Jun 22 2006, 10:43 AM
Post #3

Brewer

Member No.: 4,965

It's not bad, even though it's a shadow of what it once was

Have fond memories of their Red Cap ale, which I haven't seen on a shelf in 20 years at least.

+Quote Post
PaulK
post Jun 22 2006, 07:32 PM
Post #4

Brewmaster

Member No.: 3,127

QUOTE(The Professor @ Jun 21 2006, 05:01 PM) *
It's not bad, even though it's a shadow of what it once was (I've been drinking it since 1968...though in reality it stopped tasting anything like real Ballantine after the 1980's).